Press pause for life.

So I know that I have not done a post for awhile. I have had some changes in my life. One of them was needing to look for a new place to live and get moved in less than 30 days. We were able to do that but it did take up a lot of the time I was using for learning to code. Since the move has been complete I have been back at the grindstone.

I was told about a site called lynda.com by Linkedin. They offer so many different learning paths, from computer coding to business classes. If you have a library card and your library is a partner site you can log in with your library card and get access to the full site without having to pay the monthly fee. I have been working on the Full Stack Web Developer course. So far I have completed 2 of the basic courses as well as the HTML course. After each course you can add the certification to your Linkedin account. Overall I have enjoyed the site and it is very easy to use.

The HTML course was my first real attempt at coding. Learning the syntax and where it needed to be in the site was a challenge. Several times I worked through the challenges only to have it not work. Then I had to start going back through each line trying to figure it out only to be thwarted by an angle bracket or a semicolon that was missing or in the wrong place. I know that I will get better in time and that as I continue to learn the work will become easier for me. But several times I had to wonder, after staring at the screen for 30 mins, if I was cut out for this. After talking to a few of my friends that are in the business I realized that making mistakes is just part of the learning process and comes with the job and I should not let it sway me. Not giving up is the key to success.

Well time to get back at it. I am hope you all are enjoying my blog and I welcome any feedback or suggestions. Networking is a big part of the process and I welcome the chance to network with all of you.

Leave a Reply

