Press X to start.

My name is Jason and welcome to my story……

Just like the start of a new video game, there was a bit of apprehension as I talked to my wife about switching careers. Now most people would not think that to be a big deal, but the kicker is I am almost 40. I am not talking like almost when you think 35 is “almost” 40. I mean just a hair over one month, looking down the barrel of 40.

I went to college and got my B.S. in Criminal Justice with an emphasis on counter-terrorism. I loved my classes but I was an older student and my advisor failed to mention that at my age it would be hard to find a job with the government due to the mandatory retirement ages. All was not lost. I took what I learned and got a job as a communications officer with Lexington 911. The job was not bad, but I was working 12-16 hour days. Being a newlywed, it was a strain on my marriage. After several years, I had reached a point where I needed a change and wanted to do something that would allow me to spend more time with my wife; so I took a job in the insurance world. The hours are good but I still felt that I could be doing more. I have a good friend, Nick, that has been coding for years and I talked to him about it. The more we talked, the more I felt that coding might also be a good fit for me.

So, I talked it over with my wife and she agreed that this could be a good career for me. Now, I have zero experience when it comes to programming; so I have done some research and started learning to code at Treehouse.com. This will be my story, my place to share my experience. The joys and pitfalls and everything in between.

 

 

Leave a Reply

